About Us
Who We Are
The Society of Jesus is made up of geographical territories called "provinces."

There are approximately 80 Jesuit provinces around the world (although their number and boundaries have never been static). Each province has a superior who is simply called "the Provincial," and who, in turn, reports directly to the central Jesuit government or "curia" in Rome, headed by the Superior General. The current “Father General,” as he is often called, is Father Arturo Sosa, S.J.

In the United States, there are currently five provinces, and in Canada there is one. And there are many Jesuit communities within the provinces, each one usually headed by a "superior."

The administrative arm of the Jesuits of Canada and the United States is the Jesuit Conference of Canada and the United States. The Conference helps coordinate the relationships among all the various Jesuit entities, including service organizations and the provinces, as well as between them and the international headquarters in Rome.

Jesuit leaders from all countries meet from time to time for what are called General Congregations, often to elect a new Superior General and address important issues facing the order, the Church, and the world. There have been 36 General Congregations throughout the history of the Jesuits, and they are the highest governing authority of the Society of Jesus.

Since St. Ignatius bought a printing press in 1556, the Jesuits have been involved in communications. Today the Society of Jesus publishes a number of award-winning journals and publications. Click below to access our latest issues.

America 10/14/19

America 9/30/19

America 9/16/19

History Mission and Ministries Who We Are Jesuit Conference Serving Christ and the Pope Superior General The Provinces
Global Community Protecting Children Jesuit Conference Staff

White House Jesuit Retreat Center
The White House Jesuit Retreat Center is located on a beautiful 80-acre campus on the bluffs of the Mississippi River in St. Louis.